Submission to Layers Magazine

28 Sep

Layers Magazine held a contest a couple of weeks ago for the back page of their next issue. We were to create a movie poster, the main image of which was to be composed of type. They referenced a tutorial that is no longer publicly available to inspire us. We were also offered the ever-popular Helbotica as an alternative method. I chose to keep my main image photographic in nature, and used some of my own photography in the process.

It’s so incredibly rare for an initial idea to be a strong one that I literally never expect it. 99.99% of the time, you will have to work through the crap ideas to finally land on something solid. However, upon first reading the brief, I immediately pictured a young man composed (perhaps unfairly) of the word “slacker.” I remembered my friend Ashley from Nashville who used to always say that language constructs reality. This is an idea from Swiss linguist Ferdinand de Saussure, and I really believe that it’s true. I felt like this concept was really strong right off the bat, which really surprised me. I didn’t stop to question it, though, and just ran with it.

I even knew immediately what photo I wanted to use. I did some press photo work for my friendWalter Trammell over the summer, and one of the photos from his shoot was perfect for what I wanted to accomplish.
IMG_4538
Through the process of applying text to the image, I decided to have the figure degenerate into the label, instead of being composed entirely of it. I even applied a gradient overlay (stop moaning, it worked) to his body for an added sense of depth.

I landed on the title, Goldbrick, by using one of my favorite tools: a thesaurus. By definition, a goldbrick is a term used to describe anything that has supposed value but turns out to actually be worthless; much like a plain red brick painted gold to look like the real article. Using this term as the title afforded me some intellectual depth; this seemed to be a plausible story with a potential irony. I wanted to create a poster for a movie that could actually be written.

I also wanted the poster to feel as though it belonged hanging in a movie theater lobby, which led me to search for a “movie poster credits” font. I got incredibly lucky and found this great, free font that was exactly what I was looking for. It’s called SteelTongs and it served it’s purpose beautifully. I made sure to immediately share it on Basecamp with my fellow students, as it was a great resource.

Here’s the final product. I’m really happy with it. I spent about the last two hours of time just trying to resolve the tagline. Drew told me I was fussing too much and needed to just let it go, so that’s exactly what I did. Like I said, I’m really happy with the final outcome.
goldbrick_03

4 Responses to “Submission to Layers Magazine”

  1. brian September 29, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    nice work.

  2. =md= October 1, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    heyy, that’s great work

  3. walter trammell October 4, 2009 at 3:02 am #

    Beth great job and congradulations!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Update: Layers Magazine contest « beth makes things - October 1, 2009

    […] crew! I couldn’t have done this without you. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Submission to Layers MagazineLayers Magazine back page design contestMagazine Articles GaloreCleo Magazines ( Nov & Dec 2008 […]

Leave a Reply

