Psychogeographic Map Inspiration

3 Nov

In this new typography experiment, we’re making psychogeographic maps. We’ll drift away from our comfortable routine and map our experience in a typographically-focused way. I struggled for a while with the idea, not sure what I would do. Then, with the help of some great suggestions from classmates, I figured it out.

I get really uncomfortable really quickly when it’s quiet. Actually, it’s quite stronger than that. I’m downright terrified of silence. It forces me into my own head, which scares me. I daydream all the time, and I am already very much absorbed in my own imagination all the time. But I always have something else going on; there’s music playing, the TV’s on, I’m with other people or in a public space, etc. The sheer idea of robbing myself of outside stimulation for a period of time and being left with my own imagination is really terrifying. So I’m doing it.

I’m still not sure exactly what format the final output will be in, but I think I’ll let that come of the experience. I really don’t know what it’s going to be like, so I don’t yet know what it should look like.

Here’s a little bit of my inspiration. These are both physical as well as emotional and neurological maps. I’m playing with the idea of finding a way to melt an emotional map of my experience into a physical map of a space. Not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

