simple pleasures

20 Jan

It’s pretty easy to feel like life is over complicated sometimes and let the stress of a design career get the best of you. It’s during these times that I like to remember all the little things that make me happy and remind me why I do what I do every day. The simple pleasures, if you will. For instance, the way colors change on billboards in different daylight. Or recognizing a typeface when you’re not even paying attention.

I’ve been interning at Widgets and Stone, a successful local design studio, since November. I absolutely love it there and am learning so, so much about being a professional designer. My skills in both design and client relations have grown tremendously since I started. UTC recognizes the internship as course credit, so I have worked my schedule out so that I work at the studio Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and go to class on Tuesdays and Thursdays. It is amazing. It is the schedule I have always wanted. I get bored and burnt-out really easily when I’m doing the same thing day in and day out. Switching my brain from work to school mode every other day has been fantastic. It keeps my mind fresh every morning and I have yet to feel that “burnt-out” feeling I get. Granted, we’re only two weeks into the semester, but I can honestly say that I feel like I’ve found a balance in my life that has kept stress at bay. I am taking a wonderfully simple, zen kind of pleasure in this. It’s going to be a huge asset when this semester kicks into high gear, because this is going to be a three month onslaught of giant projects. But I feel like I’ve set myself up with a strong, balanced foundation upon which to pile the weight of this semester. I’m so ready.

One Response to “simple pleasures”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Google: No More Android Phones for China | AboutAndroid.info - January 21, 2010

    […] simple pleasures « beth makes things […]

Leave a Reply

