You can call it a comeback

9 Aug

WOW it’s been a while since I’ve blogged. I apologize for my neglect. My time and attention have been eaten away by several big, exciting projects that I fully intend to share with you over the next few days. For now, I will give you a summation of my time away from WordPress and a preview of the blogs you can expect to see very, very soon:

I spent the spring semester engrossed in creating the branding for the 2010 AIGA Leadership Retreat that was held here in Chattanooga in June. This was a project that my classmates and I worked on collaboratively, having been split into three task forces (Printed Materials, Web/Social Media and Environmental Graphics). I was the leader of the Print Team, and as such assumed a great deal of responsibility that kept my hands tied most of the time. More about this awesome and hectic experience later.

Once the retreat was over, I took a few days to recuperate with an awesome friend and a lot of laughter. This amazing friend happens to brew his own fine alcoholic beverages, which I felt needed some humorous branding. I quickly obliged. A post on this later.

I then came back to Widgets & Stone, the lovely studio who hired me as a Designer after having me as an intern for only 5 months. It has been nothing short of an amazing experience to be a part of the Widgets team. We’ve done some awesome things since I last blogged. I was even allowed to take lead on a couple of projects. Again, more on these later.

Early in the summer, the extraordinarily talented and quirky Terry Chouinard came to the studio to host a letterpress lecture and workshop, which was so, so much fun. I learned so much from him and his humor kept everyone in the workshop in high spirits. It was a really enjoyable experience that gave me the confidence and knowledge to attempt a letterpress project of my own. Again, a later post (we’re up to what, at least 4 now? Good grief…)

So, a lot has happened. A lot will continue to happen. And I will blog about it. Be prepared.

One Response to “You can call it a comeback”

  1. Kristen August 9, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Congrats, Beth! It sounds like you’ve had a lot going on and a lot of success doing it! I’m so proud of you and would love to see some of what you’ve created. I miss you friend! Let’s get together soon and catch up over delicious alcoholic beverages. Miss you much!

    Kristen

Leave a Reply

